Have your say on Newcastle council ward boundary changes

Local Government Boundary Commission launches consultation on changes to 23 of council's 26 wards.
Bridges over the River Tyne, viewed from above houses in St Peter's Basin

The Local Government Boundary Commission wants to hear what residents and local organisations think about the proposals. A ten-week consultation on the proposals will run until 16 September 2024. 

The Commission is the independent body that draws these boundaries. It is reviewing Newcastle to make sure councillors will represent about the same number of electors, and that ward arrangements will help the council work effectively. 

The Commission has published proposals for changes to Newcastle City Council. It is proposing that there should be 78 Councillors representing 26 three-councillor wards. 23 wards will change, three will stay the same.

Proposed changes include:

  • the Kingston Park area being included in a single ward 
  • only one ward in Jesmond (not extending south of the A1058)

Launching the consultation Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said: “We want people in Newcastle to help us. 

"We have drawn up proposals for new wards in Newcastle. We want to make sure these new electoral arrangements reflect communities. We also want them to be easy to understand and convenient for local people.

"Residents and local organisations can help us do that. We would like them to let us know whether they agree with our proposals before we take final decisions.

"It's easy to get involved. Go to our website. Or you can e-mail or write to us.

"Just tell us what you think and give us some details why you think that. It's really simple, so do get involved”

Take part in the consultation

The Commission has a dedicated section on its website where people can see the detail of the proposals and comment on the names of wards and their boundaries. See: 

To share your views you can also: